Finally, I’ve started a blog.

A real blog this time, not just one for a class or while I’m studying abroad in Spain.  Now I’ll no longer discover other people’s blogs and say what! How in the world do they have time for that? I decided I’m going to figure out how you make time for this because it seems really fun and for some reason I feel like I need to.

toile.  noun \ˈtwäl\

1. the name of a fabric that entered the English language around the 16th century from the French “toile” that means “linen cloth” or “canvas”

2. a version of a garment made by a fashion designer or dressmaker to test a pattern

3. abbreviation for “toile de jouy,” a type of decorating pattern usually consisting of a white or off-white background with a repeated pattern depicting a fairly complex scene, generally of a pastoral theme; can also consist of arrangements of flowers

This last definition is what I think of when I think of toile. I remember discovering this pattern when I was 15 or 16 and redecorating my room at home. I found so many toile fabrics I wanted to use and have loved it ever since.

Exhibit A:

Toile is a really busy design, but like any pattern, it repeats itself. I imagine the thoughts and ideas in our minds in a similar way. Sometimes they feel like too many to even keep in one place…a continuous stream of often disjointed ideas. But when we can stop to think and write, we organize them, kind of like a pattern.

This blog will probably be a reflection of that because I haven’t decided on certain subjects I’m going to post about. Just anything and everything! I’m already loving this freedom, such a nice contrast to assigned papers and essays. So, this is like the toile of my mind. 🙂

Like any blogger, I’d love to read your comments, so please don’t hesitate to post!

