An email from the UNC Athletic Ticket Office reminded me of my current identity crisis this afternoon.  The email was about the Duke basketball ticket distribution.  For those of you unfamiliar with Carolina’s basketball ticket distribution, all students have to enter the lottery for every game to get a ticket.  About a week before a game, we get an email telling us whether we’ve been “selected” to receive a ticket to that game.  (For the past 3 games, my email has started with, “Unfortunately, you HAVE NOT been randomly selected in the lottery to receive student tickets….”)

However, the policy for the Duke game is a little different because it’s the biggest game of the year.  For the Duke game, seniors and grad students get priority in the lottery.  Apparently being a senior or a grad student doesn’t “guarantee” a ticket, but I’m not sure why the policy says that.  It seems like seniors always know they get to go just because they’re seniors, and a lot of underclassmen still get tickets, too. I went last year as a sophomore. The idea is that you won’t graduate without ever having a chance to go to a UNC/Duke basketball game!

So this email went out to all seniors, reminding them of the policy for the Duke game.  I got this email because technically I’m a senior.  I’ve known since freshman year I could probably finish classes a semester early.  Last year I realized how easy it is for me to do that and have had that tentative plan in mind since then.  But it wasn’t until this semester that my credits pushed my class status up.  Last semester I was a junior, but now my transcript says senior.  The dilemma is that I’m not sure whether I’ll be a student next spring or not.   We can only use our senior status once to get priority for the Duke game.  If I find a job here for spring semester of next year, I would love to work and not take classes.  In that case, I should be a senior right now and get a Duke ticket.  But if I can’t find a job I like, I’ll probably be a part-time student. So in that case, I should tell the ticket office I’m not graduating this year so I can have priority next spring.

Since I’ve already been to a UNC/Duke basketball game, it makes sense to just save my priority for next spring….and if I end up not being a student at that time, oh well.  The problem is that if I want to do that, I have to actually go to the ticket office and present proof of my graduation status!  So annoying.  I have to do it by next Wednesday, and I don’t see any time to do that in the next week. If I don’t do anything about it, I’ll be entered in the lottery with priority…probably get a ticket, and I’m not even sure if I’ll go because the game is the weekend our spring break starts.  But I’d still have a chance of getting a ticket next spring, even though I wouldn’ t have priority.  So neither option ruins my chances of going.

The reason I’m thinking about this so much is because I’m also just thinking in general about my decision to take classes next spring or not. I don’t think I’ll know what I’m going to do until next fall, but I’d love to hear what you think!

And tell me what I should do about the game! 🙂

