The last day of summer is officially here. On one hand I can’t believe everything on the agenda for the summer has already come and gone, and on the other hand, it feels like time for school to start. Not having moved back home or anywhere new for the summer makes it feel a  little longer, I think, and I’ll have had three and a half full months of summer, which sounds pretty long to me. But then again – ah! – this is probably my last summer break! Wow.

I finally made some decisions about this next semester over the past month or so, and the most important is that I will definitely be done taking classes in December! I’ve been dying to be done with classes since freshman year, but nevertheless I haven’t wanted to make a final decision about finishing in December just in case it isn’t possible for me to find a full time job for next spring, or just in case I didn’t feel ready to jump into the real world! But spending countless hours on readings, projects and studying for classes outside my major that aren’t going to help me toward any degree – and spending thousands of dollars to do that – has never been attractive to me. One of the negatives of being an overachiever, study-aholic in high school is that upon reaching college, you are already burnt out. At least that was the case for me. So needless to say, I’m excited this is my last semester of classes. At the same time, it’s sad to know this will be my last semester doing what I think are the fun parts of being a student – walking on our beautiful campus so often; easily meeting friends to study in the union or the library or for coffee at The Daily Grind or lunch at Lenoir or outside on a pretty day; working to create the best possible schedule class schedule! I’ll be sad not to do these things on a regular basis, but I’m really looking forward to evenings and weekends completely free of schoolwork, and I’m even looking forward to having a real-world, 40 hour/week job if I am fortunate enough to find one! I feel like I’ve been ready to move on for a while, so I’m not too sad, but I’m sure it will hit me a little harder when the time actually comes.

My plan is to wait to walk and do the graduation ceremony in May with the rest of my class and my friends. I’ll start looking for a job pretty soon, to start in January, and I’ll be looking in Raleigh, Durham and Chapel Hill – and anywhere in between!

As for this next semester, I decided to continue with my internship at French/West/Vaughan. I have no classes on Mondays or Wednesdays, so I’ll be going to Raleigh to work there from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. those days. I asked to be moved to a new team to get more traditional PR experience and to work with some new clients. Most of my work for the team I have been with (sports & entertainment) has been focused on finding potential endorsers for two up-and-coming Houston Texans’ players. I did almost just as much work for other clients when my supervisors didn’t need anything. It was a mix of research, a press release or two, building media lists and writing Facebook posts and tweets! I haven’t found out what my new team is, but it will be nice to be more focused in terms of the clientele.

After planning on working at J.Crew a couple times a week as well, and trying to fit that into my schedule, I changed my mind and decided to quit. A family from my church has asked me to help with their kids a few times a week. It will be a much more flexible schedule, better pay and less stressful when I’m working. My last day there is this Saturday, and my first day back at French/West/Vaughan after taking off about 3 weeks will be next Monday. And classes start tomorrow, ah! I have what I think should be a very light schedule, though. I just need three more journalism classes to finish my public relations major – Media Ethics, PR Campaigns and Graphic Design. I need one more class to be a full-time student, so I’m taking Personal Health pass/fail. 🙂

One of the main things on the agenda for this summer was the arrival of my sister Hanley and her husband Michael! They came back from South Korea to visit for one month before starting their next school year. They plan to teach there for one more year. I was home in Charlotte to see them when their flight got in, and then that weekend they came up to Chapel Hill and stayed with me while they visited some friends. The second week of August our whole family was able to go to the beach together, which we had been looking forward to since the Fall. Jon and I met my family at Litchfield Beach where my parents had rented a house right on the beach for the week! Ellie brought her friend Morgan, and Michael’s mom came for a few days as well. We had a relaxing week of reading, walking and playing games on the beach, going to the grocery store every day, playing games inside, cooking dinner, eating, playing games on the porch and oh yeah – playing more games! Clearly we played a lot of games. Hanley and Michael especially are big time gamers. Mad Libs, Pictionary, Mad Gabs, Catch Phrase, Dutch Blitz and Buzz Word, to name a few. We also took some stereotypical dressed-up-on-the-beach family pictures:

color scheme credit: Hanley

I got to see Hanley and Michael one last time when we moved my little sister Ellie into college at UNC-Wilmington on Saturday. My parents are now officially empty nesters! Hanley and Michael fly out of Charlotte tomorrow morning and we might not see them for a whole year this time! 😦 This past Christmas we went to Korea for about 10 days to see them. They are considering coming home for Christmas this time, but it might not be feasible. We are definitely going to have to video chat a lot more this year!

The Glendie has seen a lot of transition in the past few weeks. One major change is that Becca, who I told you all about in my previous post, has decided to take this semester off to do missions work in Haiti. She recently found a Ph.D. student to sublet her room. Her name is Evette and she just moved in this weekend! She’s studying epidemiology in the school of public health and just moved from New York. I’ll have to get to know her better before I do my next post on the new Glendie girls. Becca will be in and out until she leaves for Haiti in September. Alli moved out at the beginning of August, and Hilary reclaimed her room this weekend. Shannon and Paige have taken over the “attached apartment” since Kryssi moved out at the beginning of August, and I think they gave it a face lift while they were at it! It looks so fresh and cute back there. Last but not least, Melissa got in this morning!

It definitely feels like it’s time for school to start so we can get back into a normal routine with all this crazy moving around. This might be the most excited I’ve ever been for school to start…probably because I know it’s the last one for me! 🙂

