Last week I gave a huge update on everything that happened with jobs and interviews for me and Jon last semester, and then I promised a post about the baby shower we had for Jon’s sister, Ashley, last weekend. So here it is!

Last Friday Jon and I went to Asheville for the baby shower that his cousin Farrin threw for Ashley on Saturday. Farrin lives in Charlotte, so she hosted the party at Jon’s parents house, and it was a lot of the Hymels’ family friends and Ashley’s husband Brandon’s family.

Farrin got so many cute ideas for the party from Pinterest, so this definitely warranted me taking some pictures and putting them on here! (Sorry for the quality – they are all from my phone.)

Ashley has found so many cute owl-related things to decorate her little boy’s nursery, including the bedding she and Brandon’s mom sewed for his crib, that it has become quite the theme for his nursery! So, Farrin found these super cute owl cupcakes on Pinterest, and we put them together Saturday morning!

Aren’t those adorable?? They might look really easy to make, but splitting those Oreos apart while keeping the cream all on one side was definitely not easy!! We had a very large pile of messed up Oreos after that. 🙂

Next, Farrin found this great idea of a rainbow of fruit kabobs! These were much easier to put together. I’m pretty sure Jon’s dad actually did most of them! What a great helper.

 And this here was probably the best punch I’ve ever had! I know it had frozen lemonade and ginger ale, but now I can’t remember what else…

We also had spinach and artichoke dip, the BEST pimento cheese (made by Jon’s mom), chips and salsa, carrot and celery sticks, sweet tea, and these little wraps made with broccoli, carrots, ranch dressing and a couple other ingredients I’m sure I’m forgetting!

We had a great time eating, getting to know how everyone was connected to Ashley, and writing her notes of encouragement/advice for her delivery and next phase of life as a mom! Little Lucas is due on March 5, so it really could be any day now! We are all so excited! Here is a picture of the cute mother-to-be and her momma! (I just hope I look this good when I’m 8 months preggers!)

So excited for you Ashley and Brandon….can’t wait to meet Lucas! 🙂

