Tags

Flowers were one of the things that seemed kind-of overwhelming to me at the beginning of this planning process because, to be honest, I really didn’t know my flowers! I know, what kind of bride doesn’t know her flowers, right? But after learning a few it didn’t take me long to learn lots of names and figure out what I like. This morning I skyped with Olivia, one of my bridesmaids who is studying abroad in Italy right now! She is a girl who knows her flowers, being the daughter of a plant nursery owner. She was super excited to hear what is in the bridesmaids’ bouquets, which reminded me how pretty I think they are going to turn out! So I thought I would do a little feature on the flowers.

First up: bridesmaids’ bouquets:

We have ivory and pale peach spray roses, like this top rose here….

dusty miller leaves (a personal favorite!) You can see it beside the peach rose in the picture above, and here….

white dahlia, as the biggest bloom….

white freesia….

and for accents, queen anne’s lace…

seeded eucalyptus…

and lastly, another favorite of mine, brunia berries!

here is how they look as an accent in a bouquet:

this bouquet above is a good expression of the colors as well, with just a little less pink and more peach.

Next, my sisters’ bouquets! (maid & matron of honor), which share a lot of the same flowers:

creamy white and peach spray roses, just like the bridesmaids have…

but additional apricot regular roses as well…

dusty miller leaves again…

 peach, rather than white, dahlias….

(You never know exactly what shade they’ll turn out.)

white ranunculus, rather than freesia…

seeded eucalyptus again…

and silver brunia berries again…

Lastly, my bouquet!

I’ll have peach spray roses and apricot regular roses again…

dusty miller leaves again…

either white freesia or white ranunculus again…

OR

 pale pink peonies – YAY!!!!

(that’s my hair/makeup stylist’s work above!)

one of my favorites, and my only must-have from the beginning, succulents!! they are the bluish green color….

and for my accents, I’ll have seeded eucalyptus again….

and silver brunia berries!

My honorary bridesmaids will wear corsages of either apricot spray roses or ranunculus….

OR

dusty miller leaves…

 and seeded eucalyptus…

Our moms are wearing light pink ranunculus, as pictured earlier with the white ranunculus…

dusty miller leaves…

and seeded eucalyptus…

Grandmothers will wear ivory spray roses…

seeded eucalyptus…

and either white astillbe or freesia…

OR

One of my favorite details is that our groomsmen are wearing cotton boutonnieres! Kind-of like this…

Except smaller, and with a small embellishment – possibly brunia berries or baby’s breath, like these:

The best man’s bout will be a cotton ball as well, but also include a small pink or white ranunculus:

Jon’s bout will be a bigger pink or white ranunculus with a smaller ball of cotton and a sprig of brunia berries, which, as I’m sure you know by now, look like this!

The dads and grandfather’s boutonnieres are all going to be a simple cluster of baby’s breath, like this:

I’m so excited to see it all come together in person and take lots of pictures with all the pretty flowers!! What’s your favorite flower from this post??

